Sports Commission Nominates Six Republic Athletes for Annual Awards

Six Republic athletes are among the nominees for the 12th annual Sports Commission Awards to be handed out June 18. The Springfield Sports Commission and the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame work together to present the awards to some of the top athletes in the area.

Spring sports nominations are not released yet, but Republic has six athletes nominated in fall and winter sports: Gracie Troester (Cross Country), Jenna Belcher (Softball), Rilynn Finley (Volleyball), Carter Nation (Football-Linemen), Wyatt Woods (Football-Offensive Skill Positions), and Misora Nambara (Girls Basketball).

According to a news release, a total of 34 categories will feature the top athletes and teams from across southwest Missouri during the 2023-2024 school year, with each nominee chosen by a selection committee.


Choose your teams. Check your inbox. Sign up now for our brand-new customized newsletter.